Tuesday, December 28, 2010

6 Patriots Named To The Pro-Bowl

Tom Brady will be making his 6th pro bowl appearance. Brady is an obvious choice for the Pro-Bowl seeing as in how he's the obvious choice for League MVP. Brady leads the league in touchdowns, passer rating, has the highest scoring offense in the league, and hasn't thrown an interception since mid October. Tom is a starter.

Logan Mankins is selected for the 3rd time. Mankins is widely considered as one of the best guards in the league, it's going to be tough to turn down an extension this off-season. Logan has been also selected as a starter.

Vince Wilfork is in for the third time. Big Vince has 43 tackles and has been one of the MVP's of this young defense, esspecially with his ability to stuff the run. Vince will start at DT for the AFC.

Brandon Meriweather earns his second invitation. Meriweather has 67 total tackles to go with 3 interceptions. Meriweather will once again be a reserve.

Jerod Mayo makes it for the first time. The 3rd year Linebacker leads the NFL with 168 tackles (110 solo), has 2 forced fumbles, and a sack. Jerod will be a reserve.

And rookie CB Devin McCourty will be appearing as reserve as well. McCourty is third on the team with 81 total tackles. He has also recorded six interceptions for 110 yards, one sack, 15 passes defensed, two forced fumbles and 11 special teams tackles. Devin is the 4th Patriot player to be selected to the Pro-Bowl as a rookie, he joins Mike Haynes (1976), John Stephens (1988) and Curtis Martin (1995). McCourty will also be a reserve.

No comments:

Post a Comment