Thursday, September 8, 2011

Patriots Name Six Captains.

DL Vince Wilfork, LB Jerod Mayo, WR Matt Slater, OL Logan Mankins and CB Devin McCourty.

The Patriots have announced six captains today, two more than last years squad.

Tom Brady (QB)
Vince Wilfork (DL)
Logan Mankins (OL)
Jerod Mayo (LB)
Matthew Slater (WR/ST)
Devin McCourty (CB)

This group of captains is just another step in Bill Belichick's mission to make this team younger. With younger players continuing to replenish the leadership role's that were left open by the great Patriots of the past, this team is finally moving out of it's own shadow.

Brady, Wilfork, and Mankins are all seasoned veterans and were part of the teams previous success. Mayo, McCourty, and Slater are all part of Belichick's past 4 years of drafting, none of them have played in a Super Bowl, none of them have even won a Playoff game.

Tedy Bruschi and Rodney Harrison are gone, so is Randy Moss. With younger players starting to enter their prime, and older players still at the end of it, now is the perfect time to push for another Super Bowl. Just like back in 2001 this team consists of two things, other teams cast offs, and young unproven talent who has only potential. Only this team isn't going to catch anyone off guard.

Videos from @Trags

No comments:

Post a Comment